Two things - an LDWA London update


Two things - an LDWA London update
Two things - an LDWA London update

Hello everyone

 

Sorry to bombard you with emails this week, but there are two matters I wanted to mention:

 

First - as long-suffering Londoners, you will no doubt be aware that a series of Tube strikes are currently planned for next week.  If they go ahead, in view of the likely widespread disruption, have decided that Keith's Wimbledon to Kingston walk on Wednesday next week will be postponed.  

Apparently, both sides in the dispute are still negotiating, so it's possible that the strike will be averted.   We will review the position next Monday and I'll relay a final decision on whether the walk will go ahead in my Weekly Update email on Monday 24th.

 

Second -  I'm trying to finalise the walks programme for next Spring and it's almost complete now.   But there are still three weekend slots left, and a number of midweek opportunities, so if you would like to step forward and volunteer to lead on one of these dates, I, and the entire LDWA London membership, would be extremeily grateful.  The dates that are still free are listed below: 

The weekend dates are as follows: 

  • Sat, 09 Apr 2016                or            Sun, 10 Apr 2016
  • Sat, 16 Apr 2016                or            Sun, 17 Apr 2016
  • Sat, 30 Apr 2016                or            Sun, 01 May 2016 

And the midweek slots are: 

  • Wed, 03 Feb 2016            or            Tue / Thu either side
  • Wed, 10 Feb 2016            or            Tue / Thu either side
  • Wed, 17 Feb 2016            or            Tue / Thu either side
  • Wed, 24 Feb 2016            or            Tue / Thu either side
  • Wed, 02 Mar 2016            or            Tue / Thu either side
  • Wed, 16 Mar 2016            or            Tue / Thu either side
  • Wed, 23 Mar 2016            or            Tue / Thu either side
  • Wed, 30 Mar 2016            or            Tue / Thu either side
  • Wed, 06 Apr 2016             or            Tue / Thu either side
  • Wed, 20 Apr 2016             or            Tue / Thu either side 

If you'd like to volunteer, please just drop me a note by replying to this email.   I won't need the walk details till the middle of September.

Thanks very much, and have a great week!

Adam

 

 

 

Wimbledon to Kingston

Wed 26th Aug 2015

 

Event Details:

Event Details Updated
Note - if the tube strikes planned for 25 and 27 August go ahead, this walk will be POSTPONED.   Keep an eye out for the Weekly Update email on Monday 24 August for a final decision.
Event Type
Group Walk
Region
Southern England
Local Group
London
Distance
8ml.
Start Time
18.00
Route
Meet Wimbledon Stn A linear walk across Wimbledon Common, Richmond Park via Isabella Plantation, Ham Common & the Thames Path to finish at Kingston Station which happens to be very close to a Wetherspoons
Contact
Keith Lane Telephone number in Strider
Start and Finish
TQ248706
View on StreetMap
London LDWA - http://www.ldwa.org.uk/London