Latest News: Catering on Challenge Events Read more

Latest News: News from the NEC - March 2022 Read more



Challenge Events

A Challenge Event is a walk mostly on footpaths and other Public Rights of Way (PROWs), across open fields and moors, avoiding tarmac as much as possible. The challenge is to the individual, e.g. 30 miles in 10 hours, it is NOT a race. The distances include at least one option over 20 miles - commonly 25, 26.2 ( Marathon) - with walks over 50 miles, e.g. 62 miles (100 kilometres) in 26 hours giving qualification for the LDWA's 'flagship' Event, held over the Spring Bank Holiday weekend in a different part of the country each year, namely, a Hundred Miles in 48 hours, with a limit of 500 participants.

Search For Challenge Event

By default this page shows a summary of all LDWA events occurring in the next 365 days. Please use the following options to choose the types of events you wish to see, then click on either the Show as Map or Show as List buttons. To see all events just click on one of the buttons without setting any options. To remove all options use the Clear button.

Events found. Scroll down to view.
of

Results:

Dateclick to sort Nameclick to sort Typeclick to sort Mileage Organiserclick to sort
Sat 28th - Sun 29th May 2022 4th Llangollen Round Challenge Challenge  35ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 29th May 2022 Pick and Mix Challenge  pick, mix, 12, 8, 6 or 5ml. Beds, Bucks & N'hants
Mon 30th - Tue 31st May 2022 Bishop's Castle Round & About Walks 'ANYTIME' 17 - 30 May 22 Challenge  23, 13, 10, 7 or 3ml. (Non LDWA)
Wed 1st Jun - Mon 31st Oct 2022 A Black Pear 50 'ANYTIME' 1st June - 31st October 2022 Challenge  52, 34 or 18ml. Heart of England
Wed 1st Jun - Sun 31st Jul 2022 Cotswold Ring 'ANYTIME' 1 June - 31 July 2022 Challenge  52ml. Bristol & West
Fri 3rd - Sun 5th Jun 2022 The Trans-Pennine 100 Challenge  100ml. Vermuyden
Sat 11th Jun 2022 51st Six Shropshire Summits Challenge Walk Challenge  36ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 12th Jun 2022 Settle Saunter Challenge  23, 13 or 6.5ml. (Non LDWA)
Fri 17th Jun 2022 Welsh 3000s in 24 Hours Challenge  24ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 18th Jun 2022 30th Durham Dales Challenge Challenge  30 or 14ml. Northumbria
Sat 18th Jun 2022 Baslow Boot Bash Challenge  26 or 14ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 18th Jun 2022 Farthingstone Foot Fest Challenge  26, 15, 13 or 11ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 18th Jun 2022 Heldon Hill Midnight Sun and Beach BBQ Challenge Challenge  25ml. North of Scotland
Sat 18th Jun 2022 Pathfinder March Challenge  46ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 18th Jun 2022 Rotary Across Wales Walk Challenge  47, 26, 16 or 8ml. (Non LDWA)
Fri 24th - Sun 26th Jun 2022 Snowdonia Challenge Challenge  62.5ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 25th Jun 2022 Drovers' Walk Challenge  20, 12, 8 or 5ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 25th Jun 2022 Malvern Midsummer Marathon Challenge  26 or 14ml. Heart of England
Sat 25th Jun 2022 South Wales Three Peaks Trial Challenge  20, 17, 15 or 10ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 25th Jun 2022 White Bear Way Challenge  21 or 10ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 26th Jun 2022 Bude Beast Challenge  30, 24 or 18ml. Cornwall & Devon
Sun 26th Jun 2022 Herts Hobble 2022 Challenge  26.5 or 17ml. Essex & Herts
Sun 26th Jun 2022 Purbeck Plod Challenge  25, 16 or 12ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 2nd Jul 2022 Ulfkil Stride 2022 Challenge Challenge  24ml. West Yorkshire
Sat 9th Jul 2022 Hallow 12 Parish Challenge Challenge  40, 26, 18, 14 or 10ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 9th Jul 2022 High Weald Walk Challenge  27, 22 or 16ml. Kent
Sat 16th - Sun 17th Jul 2022 AFoot in Two Dales Challenge  50ml. The Irregulars
Sat 23rd Jul 2022 Denholme Doddle Challenge  27, 21 or 17ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 23rd Jul 2022 The Summer Poppyline Challenge  31.5 or 18ml. Norfolk & Suffolk
Sat 6th Aug 2022 Dovedale Dipper Challenge  26 or 15ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 13th Aug 2022 Open to Offas Challenge  23 or 15.5ml. Merseystride
Sun 14th Aug 2022 Birmingham Canal Canter Challenge  26.2 or 18ml. Heart of England
Sun 14th Aug 2022 Shipton Star Challenge  25, 18.8, 12.5, 6.3 or 3.1ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 20th - Sun 21st Aug 2022 Bishop's Castle Challenge Walk 'ANYTIME' 20 - 21 August 2022 Challenge  24ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 21st Aug 2022 Dorset Doddle 2022 - Event Details Updated Challenge  32ml. Dorset
Sat 27th Aug 2022 33rd Smugglers Trod Challenge  25 or 17ml. Yorkshire Coast
Sat 27th Aug 2022 Three Circles of Monmouth Challenge  13, 9 or 5ml. South Wales
Sun 28th - Mon 29th Aug 2022 White Cliffs Challenge Challenge  51 or 20.5ml. Kent
Thu 1st Sep 2022 Cotswold Challenge 'ANYTIME' 1 - 30 September 2022 Challenge  26 or 18ml. Bristol & West
Sat 3rd Sep 2022 59th Across Wales Walk Challenge  45ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 3rd - Sun 4th Sep 2022 Limestone 50 Challenge  50ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 3rd - Sun 4th Sep 2022 Peveril 33 Challenge  33ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 3rd - Sun 4th Sep 2022 The Bullock Smithy Hike Challenge  56ml. (Non LDWA)
Fri 9th - Sun 11th Sep 2022 The National Forest Trek Challenge  75ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 10th Sep 2022 15th Tour des Marches (Formally Wistanstow Challenge) Challenge  26, 18 or 12ml. Marches
Sat 10th Sep 2022 One Foot in the Gargrave Challenge  23ml. West Yorkshire
Sun 11th Sep 2022 The Notfast Ponton Plod Challenge  26.4, 17.1 or 11.7ml. (Non LDWA)
Fri 16th - Sat 17th Sep 2022 Peak District Challenge Challenge  62.5, 46.9, 31.3, 15.6 or 6.3ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 17th - Sun 18th Sep 2022 Three Forests Way Challenge  54ml. Essex & Herts
Sun 18th Sep 2022 Flower of Suffolk Marshals Walk Challenge  26ml. Norfolk & Suffolk
Sat 24th Sep 2022 40 For The Federation Challenge  V, 26 or 14ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 24th Sep 2022 BEAT the Beacons Challenge  22, 15 or 10ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 25th Sep 2022 Chagford Challenge 2022 Challenge  31, 22 or 17ml. Cornwall & Devon
Sun 25th Sep 2022 September Saunter Challenge  18.8, 12.5, 6.3 or 3.1ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 1st Oct 2022 25th Founders Challenge Walk Challenge  30 or 19ml. London
Sat 1st Oct 2022 Goyt Valley Challenge Challenge  24.5 or 13.2ml. High Peak
Sat 1st - Sun 2nd Oct 2022 Laich o' Moray 50 mile Challenge Challenge  51ml. North of Scotland
Sat 1st Oct 2022 Round Rotherham Challenge  50ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 2nd Oct 2022 The Flower of Suffolk Challenge  26 or 18ml. Norfolk & Suffolk
Sun 16th Oct 2022 38th Gatliff Marathon Challenge  31.5 or 15ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 5th Nov 2022 Kilburn Kanter Challenge  24ml. North Yorkshire
Sat 12th Nov 2022 Six Dales Circuit Challenge  25ml. Staffordshire
Sun 20th Nov 2022 Sundon Saunter Challenge  27, 18 or 12ml. Beds, Bucks & N'hants
Sun 20th Nov 2022 Wensleydale Wedge Challenge  23ml. Nidderdale
Sat 26th - Sun 27th Nov 2022 Real Ale Ramble Challenge  20, 12, 8 or 5ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 26th - Sun 27th Nov 2022 Tour De Trigs Challenge  50, 30 or 15ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 10th Dec 2022 Moors the Merrier Challenge  21ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 17th Dec 2022 Plum Pudding Plod Challenge  19ml. Marches
Mon 2nd Jan 2023 Surrey Inns Kanter Challenge  20 or 12ml. Surrey
Sat 7th Jan 2023 Reservoir Roundabout Challenge  21 or 13ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 8th Jan 2023 21st Stansted Stagger Challenge  25.6ml. Essex & Herts
Sat 4th Feb 2023 Rombalds Stride Winter Challenge Challenge  23ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 25th Feb 2023 40th South Shropshire Circular Challenge  25ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 25th Feb 2023 The South Pennine 24 Challenge  24ml. South Pennine
Sat 4th Mar 2023 Saddleworth Ten Res's Challenge  26ml. (Non LDWA)
Sun 19th Mar 2023 Sevenoaks Circular Challenge  30, 20 or 15ml. Kent
Sat 1st - Sun 2nd Apr 2023 Shropshire Way 80K Festival Challenge  50, 26 or 13ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 15th - Sun 16th Apr 2023 The Woldsman 2023 Challenge  50ml. East Yorkshire
Sat 22nd Apr 2023 Corvedale Cake Walk Challenge  22 or 10ml. Marches
Sat 22nd Apr 2023 The Bath Beat Challenge  26.5, 21, 17 or 12.5ml. (Non LDWA)
Sat 20th May 2023 CRO Ingleborough Challenge 2023 Challenge  26 or 12ml. (Non LDWA)

This website uses cookies

To comply with EU Directives we are informing you that our website uses cookies for services such as memberships and Google Analytics.

Your data is completely safe and we do not record any personally identifiable information.

Please click the button to acknowledge and approve our use of cookies during your visit.

Learn more about the Cookie Law