Walk Reports - 2020

Totals for year:
Walks - 23
Miles - 466
Walkers - 199
Walk Leaders - 12

 

Guiseley. Tuesday 7th January 2020. Distance - 10 miles. 7 walkers. Leaders - John & Jean Hussey.


 

Conistone. Saturday 11th January 2020. Distance - 18 miles. 11 walkers. Leader - Jane Parry.

Photos by Tom Wood.


 

Huddersfield. Saturday 18th January 2020. Distance - 17 miles. 22 walkers. Leader - Abi MacDonald.

Photos by Ralph Warman & Tom Wood.


 

Swinsty. Tuesday 4th February 2020. Distance - 12 miles. 11 walkers. Leader - Madeleine Watson.


 

Ilkley. Saturday 8th February 2020. Distance - 21 miles. 25 walkers. Leader - Tom Wood.



Photos by Tom Wood.


 

Bardsey. Saturday 22nd February 2020. Distance - 50 miles.

Checkpoint 2 - Bardsey on the Roundhay 50.

Photos by Tom Wood & Bryan Wiseman.


 

Wakefield. Saturday 29th February 2020. Distance - 16 miles. 12 walkers. Leader - Tim Rollett.

12 walkers endured a rainy start to the walk, but things cleared up and we even had spring sunshine by the end.
We ventured around Newmillerdam Country Park, Sandal Castle, Chantry church, Clarence Park and Pugneys.
Lunch was at Thornes Park, where we did a spot of bird watching at the park's aviary.

Photos by Tim Rollett & Tom Wood.


 

Oakwood. Tuesday 3rd March 2020. Distance - 13 miles. walkers. Leaders - John & Jean Hussey.


 

Cottingley Bridge. Sunday 15th March 2020. Distance - 20 miles. 7 walkers. Leader - Kevin Hudson.

A mostly dry day with some sunshine in the afternoon. Two stops were taken in Clayton and Thornton, with a finish at 4pm.

Photos by Tim Rollett.


 

Temple Newsam. Tuesday 7th July 2020. Distance - 20 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Madeleine Watson.


 

Arncliffe. Saturday 11th July 2020. Distance - 22 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Jane Parry.

A glorious day, Plover Hill, Pen y Ghent and Fountains Fell. Started and finished at Arncliffe. 

Photos by Ralph & Julia Warman.


 

Ilkley. Sunday 12th July 2020. Distance - 21 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Karen Pickersgill.


 

Bingley. Saturday 18th July 2020. Distance - 22 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Ralph Warman.



Photos by Tom Wood.


 

Saddleworth. Saturday 25th July 2020. Distance - 25 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Abi MacDonald.



Photos by Tom Wood.


 

Roundhay. Tuesday 28th July 2020. Distance - 15 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Madeleine Watson.


 

Heptonstall. Saturday 8th August 2020. Distance - 30 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Tom Wood.



Photos by Tom Wood.


 

Roundhay 2. Tuesday 11th August 2020. Distance - 20 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Madeleine Watson.


 

Honley. Saturday 15th August 2020. Distance - 20 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Abi MacDonald.



Photos by Tom Wood.


 

Windy Hill. Saturday 22nd August 2020. Distance - 25 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Julie Spencer.

Photos by Julia & Ralph Warman.


 

Bramham. Tuesday 25th August 2020. Distance - 20 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Madeleine Watson.


 

Marsden. Saturday 5th September 2020. Distance - 21 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Tom Wood.

Photos by Tom Wood.


 

Littondale. Saturday 12th September 2020. Distance - 27 miles. 10 walkers. Leader - Jane Parry.

A very tough walk today but we don't expect anything less from Jane.
The weather conditions also added to the 5500 feet of ascent and an extra 2 miles made the walk even more challenging but rewarding for all.
Very strong and cold winds were encountered on the summits of Birks Fell, Buckden Pike and Great Whernside, plus heavy bogs off Buckden Pike and Great Whernside on our way to Sandy Gate added to the challenge of the day, then the final slog back over Old Cote moor which nearly finished us off.
Well Done Jane for another memorable WY day out.

Photos by Julia & Ralph Warman.


 

Threshfield. Saturday 26th September 2020. Distance - 26 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Chris Burrell.

Debutant walker leader Chris Burrell's 26 mile circuit from Threshfield in the Yorkshire Dales proved to be popular with the girls of the group with the guys being outnumbered by a ratio of 4 to 2, albeit no weakness there as we powered around the hilly circuit in a creditable time of 8 hours 45 minutes conquering the hilly circuit of Malham Moor, Hawkswick Clowder, Knipe Scar and Swineber Scar.
Well done Chris on your first West Yorkshire lead, a good tough walk keeping up the traditions of which is known and expected of the group.
Let's hope it's one of many still to come.

Photos by Julia Warman.


 

Pendle. Saturday 3rd October 2020. Distance - 22 miles. 6 walkers. Leader - Peter Smith