Latest News: Read more

Discussion Forum - Gear ! - Satnav advice needed for complete novice

Author: Andy Carpenter
Posted: Wed 6th Jun 2018, 14:24
Local Group: Beds, Bucks and Northants
Cheers for your comments, Simon / Matthew! :-) Am always happy to help out if & when I can.
Author: Andrew Beck
Posted: Tue 5th Jun 2018, 21:00
Local Group: Thames Valley
Depending on your requirements you might already have a device that might meet your needs for very little outlay.
Most smartphones have GPS in them nowadays and with some free software you can start to get comfortable with GPS navigation.
There are pro's and con's with this route and it might not be right for you.
For example
I use a Samsung Galaxy S7 with "Viewranger" software www.viewranger.co.uk
This cost me £0 initially as the software is free and I already had the phone, for free you only get openstreetmap and satellite imagery (but I quite often find that openstreetmap is better than ordnance survey maps)
Viewranger does all the classic GPS stuff (Recording trails, Route following) plus some features you won't get on a Classic GPS device (Reporting your location to your family/friends in real time, Virtual Reality skyline)

Pro's
Can be much much cheaper.
Assisted GPS (Helps get a position lock much quicker - usually in under 2 seconds)
The best web based Route editor, I seen.
Multiple map sources (Openstreetmap, Ordnance Survey and Satellite imagery) - for £25 a year you can get 1:50000 and 1:25000 Ordnance Survey maps, which are also available on the Web route editor (Satmap want you to spend Hundred of pounds on SD card based ordnance survey maps and then another £25 to use them on the their web based editor)