Latest News: The LDWA 50th Hundred Read more

Discussion Forum - The Bothy - Is running easier than walking?

Author: Matthew Hand
Posted: Sat 3rd Dec 2016, 11:25
Local Group: Mid Wales
Right, I've been running in ldwa events for over 20 years (including 2 hundreds), but as age catches up (I'm 64 next week) I have to say it is becoming slower, harder and more painful - there is little pleasure in training, it's simply a painfest! A knee breaking up has also set me back a couple of years, wear and tear.
So my first advice is if you are anywhere approaching my age, stick to walking and save yourself the pain + gain longevity in joints etc.

At 5ft6in and having the shortest legs on the field, I also suffer "leg envy" like yourself, but have still managed to scuttle along quite successfully over the years, following those long legged walkers that cover the ground so effectively - runners have the same advantage!

Running and walking use slightly different muscles, so however fit you are, you do need to train a little in the other discipline; runners are good at running but I have met very, very few that can walk sections at the speed of a good walker. Because they run, they never try to improve their walking and as a result are c**p at it, as a runner I always tried to practice my fast walking and it pays off.

Employ "Ruddles Rules" (named after a famous distance fell runner), ALWAYS walk any ups, even slight inclines, jog the flat and downs. I would add to start, that on the flats you pace yourself to jog/walk 50% max and see how it goes. The aim is to sustain a steady pace over the 25+ miles as walkers do, there is no point in blowing up after 20 and slowing down. Also when walking bits, concentrate on keeping your fastest walking speed going otherwise the beggars will catch you again if you slow a fraction.