Latest News: The LDWA 50th Hundred Read more

Discussion Forum - Gear ! - Garmin Montana GPS

Author: Lisa Gittins
Posted: Tue 2nd Jul 2013, 22:11
Local Group: Merseystride
Yes Nigel the Garmin etrex 10 will do exactly that. It is a great machine for the price, I really cant fault it. (GPD user for 10+ years)
Author: Nigel John Pearce
Posted: Mon 10th Jun 2013, 21:11
Local Group: South Wales
I am new to long distance walking i usually run the trails but want to get my family fitter by taking them walking,whats a good hand held gps been looking at the e trex 10.i basically want to download a gpx file put it in the handheld and follow the route.will this do the job
Author: Eileen Greenwood
Posted: Mon 11th Mar 2013, 13:36
Local Group: Yorkshire Coast
Thanks Simon- I'll have a a play with it tonight.
Author: Simon Leck
Posted: Mon 11th Mar 2013, 10:45
Eileen,

You should just be able to connect your Montanna to your PC and it should see it as a new drive. You may need to download a USB driver from Garmin first. This can be found at www.garmin.com.
Once connected you should be able to navigate to the Garmin/GPX folder this is where all the GPX track files live. You can copy GPX route to and from this folder.
I can't remember if you can download information to the Montanna using Tracklogs. It certainly works with Memory-Map.

Simon.
Author: Eileen Greenwood
Posted: Fri 8th Mar 2013, 12:56
Hi all Montana. users

I've just got one which came with the OS Uk maps. I want to transfer one of the paths from this website onto my Garmin. Help is needed please!

I just download the track of the LDP from this site to my Mac/PC but then what? (I used the GPRx file or whatever it's called)

Do I have to download the Garmin software to transfer routes from either pc or Mac to my Garmin? I received no disks in my package- just the microSD card already inside the unit.So presumable the card just contains the maps?

Thanking you all for your help in advance (I hope!)
Author: Simon Leck