Latest News: Read more

Discussion Forum - Events - Three Rings of Shap

Author: Duncan Baber
Posted: Mon 20th Jun 2011, 8:56
Local Group: Wiltshire
As a Three Rings novice I would like to say how much I enjoyed the event. Well done and thanks for all involved in organising and staging it. Everyone I met was so cheerful and helpful - excellent food too - you surely must have lots left over, but I'm sure it won't go to waste. I was very grateful for the tea at Great Asby - provided on special request it seemed - or maybe those manning the checkpoint thought I needed a bit of a lift!

The three rings have such a different character, from the spectacular views across the Eastern Fells and to Haweswater on ring 1, to the tranquil countryside of ring 2 with its lovely riverside walks and the large herd of deer in Lowther Park to the, well, darkness of ring 3. I'm sure ring 3 was very nice, but I didn't see much of it. Thanks to whoever placed the "glow lights" on the third ring - they provided welcome reassurance on the few sections where the track was not obvious - although I did make the mistake once of heading for what I thought was a glow light only to find it was the reflection of my headtorch from the eyes of a sheep (it was late!).

It has to be said that it was a little "damp" underfoot at times - I used all of the many sets of socks I brought with me - and the liquid mud made some of the paths an "interesting" experience - although it rained much less than I had been expecting, and with very little wind it was warm, even overnight.

Other than on the first ring I can't say I met many other walkers - I walked the whole of rings 2 and 3 without seeing any other walkers apart from the occasional one or two at the checkpoints, and a small number of "head torches" returning from Oddendale as I was still heading out.

Thoroughly recommended for anyone contemplating walking this in the future.
Author: Tony Deall
Posted: Sat 11th Jun 2011, 21:22
Local Group: Cumbria